Patricia Piccinini

Embracing the Future

„Diese Wildnis ist mein Universum!“ (Patricia Piccinini, 2018)

Die australische Künstlerin Patricia Piccinini lässt uns die Zukunft erleben. In der Welt der Künstlerin wimmelt es von hybriden Kreaturen, die durch die neuesten digitalen und biotechnologischen Möglichkeiten zum Leben erweckt wurden. Die umfangreiche Überblicksausstellung greift gesellschaftsrelevante Fragestellungen zu technowissenschaftlichen Diskursen aus feministischer Perspektive auf. Zwischen Faszination und Unbehagen oszilliert die Rezeption von Piccininis Mischwesen, durch welche der Betrachter nicht nur die Zukunft erlebt, sondern auch seine eigene menschliche Existenz zu hinterfragen beginnt. Mit rund 42 Arbeiten wird die gesamte Bandbreite des Werks der Künstlerin präsentiert.

Ausstellungsobjekte: eine sorgfältige Auswahl von ca. 42 Werken (Installationen, Skulpturen, Collagen, Film)
Ausstellungsfläche: ca. 1000 qm (Größe variierbar)
Ausstellungskatalog: Deutsch, Englisch, Dänisch

Ausstellungsorte:
ARKEN Museum of Modern Art, Dänemark, 8. Februar 2019 – 8. September 2019
Borås Konstmuseum, Schweden, 8. Februar 2020 – 30. August 2020
Kunsthalle Krems, Österreich, 27. März 2021 – 3. Oktober 2021
Center of Contemporary Art Toruń, Polen, 29. Oktober 2021 – 10. April 2022
ArtScience Museum, Singapur, 5. August 2022 – 29. Januar 2023
Kunsthal Rotterdam, Niederlande, 25. Februar 2023 – 4. Juni 2023

 

Patricia Piccinini, Kindred, 2018
© Courtesy of the artist

Patricia Piccinini with her sculpture The Bond, 2016
© Courtesy of the artist

Installation views Patricia Piccinini. Omfamna framtiden, 8 February – 30 August 2020, Borås Konstmuseum, Sweden
© Peter Hennessey and Borås Konstmuseum

Installation views Patricia Piccinini. Omfamna framtiden, 8 February – 30 August 2020, Borås Konstmuseum, Sweden
© Peter Hennessey and Borås Konstmuseum

Installation views Patricia Piccinini. Omfamna framtiden, 8 February – 30 August 2020, Borås Konstmuseum, Sweden
© Peter Hennessey and Borås Konstmuseum

Expressionismus

in Kunst und Film

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass unser Ausstellungsprojekt Expressionismus in Kunst und Film vom 15. Oktober 2023 bis 25. Februar 2024 im Kunstforum Hermann Stenner in Bielefeld präsentiert wird. Die Ausstellung hat den Anspruch den Expressionismus über herkömmliche Gattungsgrenzen hinweg neu zu beleuchten und die wechselseitigen Einflüsse zwischen den Künsten Malerei, Grafik und Film aufzuzeigen. Gezeigt wird eine sorgfältige Auswahl von ca. 120 Werken, bestehend aus Gemälden, Grafiken, Filmstills und Filmausschnitten.

Read More

Japanische Fotografie der 1960er Jahre

Japan in Zeiten des rapiden Wandels

Das Museum Bad Arolsen präsentiert vom 09. September 2023 bis zum 19. November 2023 die faszinierende Fotoausstellung Zwischen Meditation und Großstadtgetriebe – Japanische Fotografie der 1960er Jahre. Diese einzigartige Ausstellung des Instituts für Kulturaustausch präsentiert die Werke von zwölf bedeutenden Vertretern der japanischen Fotografie dieser Epoche. Tauchen Sie im Residenzschloss Arolsen ein in die visuellen Erzählungen, die von einer Zeit geprägt sind, in der Japan einen raschen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung erlebte und gleichzeitig gesellschaftliche Umwälzungen durchlief. Von Fotoreportagen und spontanen Situationsporträts bis hin zu symbolischen Inszenierungen, grafischer Abstraktion und poetischen Bildgeschichten.

Read More

La Bohème

Toulouse-Lautrec und die Meister vom Montmartre

La Bohème. Toulouse-Lautrec und die Meister vom Montmartre – die erfolgreiche Ausstellung des Instituts für Kulturaustausch zieht zu ihrem nächsten Veranstaltungsort: Vom 26. Juni 2023 bis zum 15. Oktober 2023 ist das umfangreiche lithografische Plakatwerk von Toulouse-Lautrec aus der Sammlung des Muséé d’Ixelles im Musée des Beaux-Arts in Quimper zu sehen. Wie kein anderer verstand es Toulouse-Lautrec, das Lebensgefühl des Pariser Nachtlebens einzufangen. Begleitet von Toulouse-Lautrecs Vorgängern und Zeitgenossen wie Alfons Mucha, Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen oder Félix Vallotton überzeugt die Ausstellung durch einen breitgefächerten Einblick in die faszinierende Motivwelt der Plakatkunst um 1900.

Read More

Reshaped Reality

50 Jahre hyperrealistische Skulptur

Unter dem Titel Sembra Vivo! Sculture iper-realiste dei più grandi artisti contemporanei präsentiert das Institut für Kulturaustausch in eine einzigartige Ausstellung zur Entwicklung hyperrealistischer Skulpturen seit den 1970er-Jahren. Die umfassende Auswahl der wichtigsten internationalen Positionen dieser Strömung wird vom 26. Mai 2023 bis zum 8. Oktober 2023 im Palazzo Bonaparte in Rom, Italien präsentiert. Bei den vorherigen Ausstellungsstationen, unter anderem in Spanien, den Niederlanden und Dänemark, wurden jegliche Besucherrekorde gebrochen.

Read More

Patricia Piccinini

Embracing the Future

“This wilderness is my universe!” (Patricia Piccinini, 2018)

Australian artist Patricia Piccinini lets us explore the future. The artist’s world is teeming with hybrid creatures that could have been given life through the most recent digital and biotechnological possibilities. The extensive overview addresses relevant social questions on techno-scientific discourses from a feminist perspective. The reception of Piccinini’s hybrids oscillates between fascination and discomfort, through which the viewer not only experiences the future, but also begins to question his own human existence. The selection of approximately 42 exhibits consists not only of sculptures and installations but also of videos and collages in order to present the wide range of Piccinini’s œuvre.

Exhibition objects: A well-balanced selection of approx. 42 exhibits (sculptures, installations, collages and film)
Exhibition space: Approx. 1000 square meters (adjustable in size)
Exhibition catalog: German, English, Danish

Exhibition venues:
ARKEN Museum of Modern Art, Denmark, February 8, 2019 – September 8, 2019
Borås Konstmuseum, Sweden, February 8, 2020 – August 30, 2020
Kunsthalle Krems, Austria, March 27, 2021 – October 3, 2021
Center of Contemporary Art Toruń, Poland, October 29, 2021 – April 10, 2022
ArtScience Museum, Singapore, August 5, 2022 – January 29, 2023
Kunsthal Rotterdam, The Netherlands, February 25, 2023 – June 4, 2023
Kunsthalle “Talstrasse” Halle (Saale), Germany, March 22, 2024 – June 30, 2024

 

 

Patricia Piccinini, Kindred, 2018
© Courtesy of the artist

Patricia Piccinini with her sculpture The Bond, 2016
© Courtesy of the artist

Installation views Patricia Piccinini. Omfamna framtiden, 8 February – 30 August 2020, Borås Konstmuseum, Sweden
© Peter Hennessey and Borås Konstmuseum

Installation views Patricia Piccinini. Omfamna framtiden, 8 February – 30 August 2020, Borås Konstmuseum, Sweden
© Peter Hennessey and Borås Konstmuseum

Installation views Patricia Piccinini. Omfamna framtiden, 8 February – 30 August 2020, Borås Konstmuseum, Sweden
© Peter Hennessey and Borås Konstmuseum

Patricia Piccinini

Embracing the Future

Patricia Piccinini. Fremde Berührung will be presented at the Kunsthalle “Talstrasse” Halle (Saale) in Germany from March 22, 2024, to June 30, 2024. This survey exhibition of the Australian artist lets the visitor peek into the future and question one’s own existence. Based on selected exhibits (sculptures, installations, collages, and video) this solo show presents the complete œuvre of the artist, who discusses relevant social topics and discourses. With her hybrid, lifelike creatures, Piccinini opens up new, possible perspectives on the future of mankind and how to handle them.

Read More

Japanese Photography of the 1960s

Japan in times of rapid social change

The Museum Bad Arolsen presents the fascinating photo exhibition Between Meditation and Urban Bustle – Japanese Photography of the 1960s from September 9, 2023, to November 19, 2023. This unique exhibition by the Institute for Cultural Exchange showcases the works of twelve significant representatives of Japanese photography during this era. Immerse yourself in the Residenzschloss Arolsen and explore the visual narratives that are shaped by a time when Japan experienced rapid economic growth while undergoing societal transformations. From photojournalism and spontaneous situational portraits to symbolic staging, graphic abstraction, and poetic visual stories.

Read More

La Bohème

Toulouse-Lautrec and the Masters of Montmartre

La Bohème. Toulouse-Lautrec and the Master of poster art the successful exhibition of the Institute for Cultural Exchange is moving to its next venue: From June 26, 2023, to October 15, 2023, Toulouse-Lautrec’s extensive lithographic poster work from the collection of Muséé d’Ixelles is on view at the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Quimper, France. Toulouse-Lautrec, like no one else, was able to capture the atmosphere of the Parisian nightlife through reduced, but expressive forms as well as intense coloring.  Accompanied by works of Lautrec’s predecessors and contemporaries, like Alfons Mucha, Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen or Félix Vallotton, the exhibition gives a profound insight into the fascinating world of the art poster around 1900.

Read More

Reshaped Reality

50 Years of Hyperrealistic Sculpture

The Institute for Cultural Exchange proudly presents the exhibition Sembra Vivo! Sculture iper-realiste dei più grandi artisti contemporanei at Palazzo Bonaparte in Rome, Italy. A comprehensive selection of sculptures by international representatives of the Hyperrealistic movement gives a profound insight into the development of this movement since the 1970s. The exhibition will be on display from May 26, 2023 to October 8, 2023. Previous presentations of the exhibition, for example in Spain, the Netherlands, and Denmark, broke all visitor records.

Read More